Five for Five: Words

First, a brief “housekeeping” issue. I haven’t yet figured out how to have my replies to comments automatically emailed to the person I’m responding to. I HAVE figured out a way to do this manually, so this is how I will send you my replies. My apologies if I miss someone or send a reply to the wrong person. Rest assured that I do actually read and respond to all comments. Thanks for your patience! And now on with the blog!

Words are magic. Just look at Momalom’s wonderful Five for Five. One word – Change – and FIFTY FIVE entirely different blogs, all inspired by the same word. Words can be used in so many ways – to communicate, to teach, to share to hurt, to heal. You can use words and write a horror story, a romance, a comedy. But they are not always precise. We see them through the filters of our lives. When I write the word “cat”, I’m thinking of the little brown and orange tabby named Amber who is at this moment sitting on my desk and blocking my view of the computer screen. You read “cat” and think of how much you dislike them, or remember one you had as a child, or…. the list is endless. We can both agree about what a cat is, but the word can mean so many different things to each of us.
Like magic spells, words can be used to conjure up any image, thought or feeling But they have to be the right words, in the right place. All too easy to put the wrong words in the wrong place and say or write what you didn’t mean. Like the time I told a friend I wanted him to spare me some of his happiness. What I meant was that I was tired of hearing him brag about his college and would he please lay off already. But to ask him to spare me his happiness? Really poor choice of words. And, yes, we didn’t talk again for decades.
But the right words, they can be poetry, a symphony, a glorious painting of feeling and emotion. They can take us to places we’ve never been before, show us people at their very best, at their very worst. Bring us to tears, send our thoughts in new directions. Words are magic.

8 Responses to “Five for Five: Words”

  1. stephanieh122 Says:

    Yes, yes, YES this: “But the right words, they can be poetry, a symphony, a glorious painting of feeling and emotion.” The right words are sweetness to the soul. Thanks for sharing!

  2. stephanieh122 Says:

    Yes, yes, YES this: “But the right words, they can be poetry, a symphony, a glorious painting of feeling and emotion.” The right words are sweetness to the soul! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love reading everyone’s take on the same theme…and how different they all turn out.

    • That has to be one of the coolest things about Five-for-Five – seeing how different our takes are on the same word. Thanks for coming by!

  4. Words are the most potent magic we have.

  5. Sarah @ Momalom Says:

    You know what I thought of while reading this? Books. This made me think of how I love a good book over a movie any day. Which is saying something because I am a true lover of films. But I love books for the way we interpret them–you differently from me differently from my sister. And then, if a movie is made from a book, I’m always amazed to see how my images of the words were interpreted by the filmmakers.

    Words are a playground, and we all play differently. I love them.

Leave a Reply

